My whole body aches…

…and it feels so good! Gardening is sometimes tricky for me because my sciatica usually gets irritated after about a half hour. One of my goals is to eliminate that pain through healthier living and gardening is a big part of that. It has become one of my favorite forms of exercise. I spent the day gardening yesterday and ripped out some truly horrendous weeds. Their bulbs were down a foot or two, causing me to have to dig down and basically turn over and sift through my whole garden bed. I am thankful that my back lasted the whole time.

weedsMeet Italian arum or Orange Candleflower. It has a reputation for being nearly impossible to eradicate. So much so that the city of Portland recommends throwing the bulbs you dig up in the trash rather than the municipal compost! (I love that Portland has a municipal composting program. It was one of the reasons I wanted to move up here.) This plant, that looks nice at first, has been trying to take over my whole garden.

I don’t know who was in charge of the landscaping before I moved into this house buy for some reason they picked all the WORST plants! (Except the daffodils, I love my daffodils).

After much ado I was able to get my two new blueberry bushes in the ground.

Here they are, Jersey and Earlyblue.

They’re not very photogenic yet but they will be soon. Good luck little guys! I am pretty excited about the bounty of fruits and veggies I am going to have this summer, I’m well on my way toward a more self sufficient life. It’s a good thing too, the drought in California could have a major impact on the availability of some foods.

What do you think?

